The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

One Year

with 3 comments

One year.  It has been one full year since I have had a job.  I am still on “the public teet” as Uncle Mike would say,  but I know that will eventually end.  I never imagined that I would be unemployed a year later ~ I have “always” had a job.

I got my first job at the age of 9 working for a family business ~ my Grandparent’s Bar/Bowling Alley/Restaurant, and continued to work there until I was around 19.  I also worked at my Dad’s retail business from around age 12 until I was 18, then I started getting “real” jobs.  I have never gone more than a few months without employment, so this is really strange for me.

I have done the usual job searching, including extensive “cold calling” to get my resume in front of HR executives, CEOs & Presidents, and department heads ~ nothing.  I have had interviews, and have been very close on a couple of occasions to getting offers, only to hear “nothing but crickets”.  I had one opportunity fall through in March that I STILL cannot believe I didn’t get !

Throughout this past year I have prayed, searched & meditated extensively to try and “figure this all out”.  The only conclusion I’ve really come to is that He knows where I’ll be, what I will be doing, and when I start ~ and that sometimes there isn’t always something for ME to figure out…

Written by johntheirishman

Friday, 5 June, 2009 @ 8:33 at 8:33

Posted in blah-blah-blah...

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Something will happen. Perhaps an investment into a building in Lakewood to put up an Irish Pub/Restaurant?

    Snakeye

    Sunday, 7 June, 2009 @ 14:18 at 14:18

    • Yeah, and we’ll call it O’Mini’s !!!

      johntheirishman

      Sunday, 7 June, 2009 @ 16:16 at 16:16

    • Yeah, I agree with Snake—Irish pub. It sounds like you’re a helluva cook(chef)? Snake can use his good foot for hops and kegs of GFY beer; you can cook!

      …Sorry to hear about the job, it’ll come around dude…

      johnnyj

      Wednesday, 1 July, 2009 @ 4:45 at 4:45


Leave a Reply

