The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Signs of the Times

with 6 comments

While driving along the North Coast last Sunday, Slim and I both observed something : almost every political sign in front of the multi-million dollar homes of the “old money” and “nouveau riche” were in support of the McCain/Palin ticket.  Today, as I was driving through one of Cleveland’s “Trendy & Cool” neighborhoods, chock full of hipsters, gays & young apartment dwellers – the opposite.  The only signs to be found were Obama/Biden, and I thought about the interesting contrast, especially since the two areas are only separated by a short distance.

Speaking of, LeBron James and Jay-Z are throwing a free concert at Quicken Loans Arena in support of Obama/Biden.  As I passed through downtown, I  noticed a line of about 75 people outside of Consumer Credit Counseling – how sad I thought.  Driving through Lakewood past the O/B Headquarters I noticed several hundred people in line for the free tickets.  Upon further review, the people downtown were doing the same, so I guess it wasn’t as sad as I originally surmised.

O/B’s campaign team has been out in force, trying to register voters and rally support – something I have not seen much evidence of from Mc/P.  I have even been visited at home multiple times.  I am not personally voting for either candidate for my own reasons, but I think it’s fairly clear that Obama will be our next President…

Written by johntheirishman

Friday, 24 October, 2008 @ 12:34 at 12:34

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You remember a couple years ago when I commented on Obama on the cover of Time magazine… how he was the perfect Anti-Christ. Hmm….it’s all falling into place.
    I like him too, what does that say about me? 🙂

    BH

    Saturday, 25 October, 2008 @ 9:36 at 9:36

  2. 😉

    BH

    Saturday, 25 October, 2008 @ 9:36 at 9:36

  3. ;0

    BH

    Saturday, 25 October, 2008 @ 9:36 at 9:36

  4. Yeah, I kinda remember. Look at the way he was received in Europe, and he was just a candidate !

    As for you, you will be assimilated, Lemming Girl…

    AND STOP USING THOSE “THINGS” !!!

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 25 October, 2008 @ 13:24 at 13:24

  5. Well maybe if you are still unemployed you can be part of the “spread the wealth” – or as per one of your past blogs – you could always do customer service at home depot, looks like they need a few good men! Hope to see you Thanksgiving Saturday!!!

    mary wodka

    Tuesday, 11 November, 2008 @ 4:58 at 4:58

  6. Hey there ! I’ll be contacting Uncle Obama for my piece of the pie. The plan is to be in Baltimore in time for Thanksgiving Saturday unless I am working and can’t get time off ~ yeah right. Mike always says to “get on the public teet” whenever you can !

    johntheirishman

    Tuesday, 11 November, 2008 @ 6:46 at 6:46


Leave a Reply

