The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

And Then There Were Two

with 9 comments

Annabelle the cat, aka “Belle”, “Stewmeat”, “Keeper of The Underworld”, “Fat B*stard” and “R. Kelly” has passed; in Lakewood, age 15.  She stopped eating this week, and was diagnosed with late-stage kidney failure with basically zero chance for recovery – she went down hill extremely fast.

Lisa could not bear to see it, so I went back to the vet’s to “be there” at about 3:20pm today.  I told her she had a “good run”, especially being a rescue cat.  As I scratched her head she just purred away, eyes closed, then she quickly drifted off.  I’ve always wondered what it would be like to put a pet down, and I felt bad – really bad, since she was still very alert albeit very sick.

Besides Slim and I, she leaves behind her partners in crime our two dogs, Roxie and Terra…

Written by johntheirishman

Saturday, 18 October, 2008 @ 15:27 at 15:27

Posted in 1470

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aaawwwe. What sad news. I’m sorry to hear it… and it makes me even more terrified for when we have to put down our dog- ya ya.. he’s only 3, but still.. I’m scared of that day!

    Cheyenne

    Saturday, 18 October, 2008 @ 20:30 at 20:30

  2. If it ever happens, Roxie & Terra will be A LOT tougher…

    johntheirishman

    Sunday, 19 October, 2008 @ 6:42 at 6:42

  3. That’s right. How can I forget breaking into song anytime I saw Skewer… “I’m gonna pee on you.”
    Can’t wait to see what nicknames the new kitten will get. 😉

    BH

    Sunday, 19 October, 2008 @ 17:49 at 17:49

  4. PS Like my winky face?

    BH

    Sunday, 19 October, 2008 @ 17:49 at 17:49

  5. “Smelly Cat ~ Smeeellllyyy Cat…”

    And, no – I don’t like the emoticon. It will, however, be great to see you and Snake Junior in a week and a half. Shoulda named him Spartacus…

    johntheirishman

    Sunday, 19 October, 2008 @ 18:27 at 18:27

  6. Hey…Spartacus was MINE!

    KIm

    Sunday, 19 October, 2008 @ 20:11 at 20:11

  7. Klm : I wasn’t taking credit, just sayin’…

    johntheirishman

    Monday, 20 October, 2008 @ 5:50 at 5:50

  8. Dude, that sucks… I won’t be eating stew at your house anytime soon.

    But on a serious note, I’ve never experienced a “loved one” die in my arms; I’m sure I’ll cry my brains out when I do.

    Snakeye

    Tuesday, 21 October, 2008 @ 19:49 at 19:49

  9. Trav, what is up ! Yeah, if she was kind of “out of it” it would have been a lot easier, but it was like putting down a healthy animal. It’s also pretty ironic that I was with her at the end. Lisa’s better but still sad at times…

    johntheirishman

    Wednesday, 22 October, 2008 @ 6:55 at 6:55


Leave a Reply

