The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Customer Service – Alive and Well !

with 3 comments

I journeyed to The Home Depot today in Rocky River, a CLE suburb that borders Lakewood on the West End.  I was just running in for a minute, but I had to use the little boy’s room first – when ya gotta go, ya gotta go.  What I witnessed was a classic moment in Big Box Store Customer Service.  It kind of helps one to understand why it takes so long to get phone help.

As I wandered back to the restrooms, I heard a guy on his cordless phone tell a customer “It was in this week’s ad ?  I’ll have to go look at it – please hold.”  He then preceeded to the restroom ahead of me (at least he washed his hands after), moseyed through the store with no sense of urgency whatsoever, and located the “ad rack” by the entrance.  He then – with the same lack of enthusiasm – meandering back to the Kitchen Department.  When he went to retrieve his phone from his pocket to address the customer’s question he dropped the phone, with the battery ejecting across the floor – dropped call !

Obviously I was shadowing him (from a distance – he didn’t know) to see how this played out, and it basically went exactly as I thought it would, except for the “dropped call” part.  Now I can better understand why it takes FOREVER to get telephone questions answered at these places – I really don’t think most employees care.  As stated, when ya gotta go, ya gotta go, but maybe they shouldn’t take the customer with them when they do…

 

Written by johntheirishman

Thursday, 26 June, 2008 @ 11:49 at 11:49

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So you get that job at Lowe’s yet?

    Snakeye

    Thursday, 10 July, 2008 @ 19:05 at 19:05

  2. No, I haven’t really looked for anything yet. There has been so much going on with “stuff”, people in town, projects, etc., that these last five weeks have been a blur. I COULD get the employee discount though…

    johntheirishman

    Friday, 11 July, 2008 @ 6:53 at 6:53

  3. Very nice!!

    KinkAbikith

    Sunday, 3 August, 2008 @ 9:57 at 9:57


Leave a Reply

