The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

“I’ve Got Those Unemployment Blues…”

with 4 comments

OK – not really.  Oh, I’m unemployed right now, I just don’t have the blues about it.  I was actually going to start looking for another position in September, but once again “fate” played it’s hand.  My position was “eliminated by upper management” on Friday, June 6th.

I was employed by this company since April 2005 in Supply Chain Management and did not really enjoy my position, so I quit in July of 2007 – if you look in my archives I posted about it.  To make a long story short, they “hired” me back the next morning for a position in Facilities Management.  I actually gave them 6 weeks notice when I resigned, so I really never left the company.  I thought it was going to be a great situation but as stated earlier – I would be looking in the Fall.

This kind of thing has happened to me twice before, so it was old hat.  I was part of a large down-sizing in 1996 and again in 2004.  Ironically, if I would have still been employed by the company that let me go in 2004, I would have lost my job at the end of May as that company has closed.  Maybe I need to attract stronger companies !

My situation this time is a bit different than the previous ones too.  First off, the weather – then it was Winter, now it is Summer (almost) – YES !  I am also in a much better place financially as I had many more financial obligations and expenses than I do now.  As I have stated before in this forum, Slim and I try to live simple lives.  Society and marketing tries to tell people that they deserve the best, and of COURSE you can afford it.  Not falling “victim” to that logic helps a lot.

I’m not about to say that we’re on Easy Street, but we’re OK.  I will continue to cut coupons, shop for food bargains, hit the ethnic markets, and buy inexpensive cuts of meat that I can prepare using methods that make them fabulous !  We will curtail some spending, but for the most part we will not really have to change our lifestyle since we practiced these habits already.  I also have close to a month of my normal salary & benefits, and there is always unemployment benefits.

As for my job search – I’m not, really.  At this point in my life, I want to do something I will enjoy, not just collect a paycheck.  I am working around the house and yard, completing projects and keeping up The Estate.  I’m riding my bike more, working on my jump-shot & walking about town.  I am not planning to put the financial burden on Slim, just taking some time off to figure this all out.  God knows what He’s doing, and also what I’ll be doing – I just have to find what it is…

 

 

Written by johntheirishman

Wednesday, 18 June, 2008 @ 8:43 at 8:43

Posted in 1470, blah-blah-blah...

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good… some free time to hit up the Beer Engine!

    Snakeye

    Thursday, 19 June, 2008 @ 7:10 at 7:10

  2. Hooray Beer Engine !

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 19 June, 2008 @ 8:56 at 8:56

  3. Nice, Irishman. I had a similar conversation with a close friend recently who is in the ‘same boat.’ -Just try to do something that you LOVE to do and don’t worry about the money, it will all work out!

    Now you have plenty of time to go fishing! Making beer sounds like fun too. Hell, I’ll buy some from you!

    johnnyj

    Monday, 23 June, 2008 @ 11:13 at 11:13

  4. johhnyj ! What is up ? Actually, I’m just kind of hanging out working on projects at home, and helping relatives with projects of their own. I’m also designing a Sun Room for my in-laws – I’m a busy guy ! I even had time to squeeze in a 30 mile bike ride to downtown CLE this afternoon and points East along the Loch Eire shore – gorgeous day !

    johntheirishman

    Monday, 23 June, 2008 @ 19:09 at 19:09


Leave a Reply

