The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

evolution

with 10 comments

When I first started blogging I wasn’t sure what I would write about, or if I would even stick with it. I wrote a lot of posts early on because it was someting new and different, and I wanted to get a running start on the whole thing. I didn’t know where it would go from those first posts just over a year ago – but I certainly do now. It was new, and now it isn’t.

Things like this have happened to me my entire life. You know, you start something and are “into it” for awhile and then something else comes along. In my 20’s and early 30’s it was playing sports : football, basketball, racquetball, golf, softball, mountain biking and others. In my mid-30’s life got busy so I dropped everything but an occasional game of hoops and my biking, and I started cooking, staying home and entertaining a lot more. Late 30’s/early 40’s less hoops, a bit less biking, a bit less entertaining (but still more than most). Now, I spend a lot of time on the house & yard, in the kitchen, and gardening.

I have also “dialed it down” – at least compared to how I was – always on the go. I enjoy shopping at ethnic markets and specialty stores instead of always at the “mega-grocery”, and I only go to stores when I absolutely “need” something – not just to shop or look around. I cannot tell you the last time I went to a mall – it has been well over a year. When I bike, it’s normally because I get that “urge” to go, not because I feel I “need” to get some biking in. Often evenings are just spent reading, pondering, and conversing – with a bit of wine and a fire. I do not like to feel rushed or obligated to anything.

So to summarize – I’m just in a “different place” right now. And in a few months I may be in “another place”. Thank you to everyone that has taken the time to stop by, to comment, to give their opinion. I’m not saying that this is a final post as I may blog again, even under a different blog name, and maybe not even as JTI. I am constantly evolving, and only God knows what the future holds – for any of us…

Written by johntheirishman

Sunday, 6 January, 2008 @ 9:32 at 9:32

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Irishman! Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I updated my “links” post and have added you as well. I hope to see you posting some recipes or something soon…

    Oh, a “scudmark” was the original wine-induced name of my blog…To scud: (move swiftly, blown by the wind, it’s also a a popular fly pattern for fly-fishing)…Rediculous, I know.

    johnnyj

    Thursday, 24 January, 2008 @ 13:40 at 13:40

  2. johhnyj ! I do some of my “best work” wine-induced – too funny ! So is a scudmark what’s left on the H2O after the fly passes by, or is that stil just a scud ? My first though was military – should have known it was smething “fishing related” since it was you…

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 24 January, 2008 @ 18:39 at 18:39

  3. “Scuds” are slang for “bugs” as they’re hatching and emerging; they still have part of their casing intact. SK8 and I were trying to come up with a name for the blog that embraced both of us and “Scudmark” was the best we could do…We thought it was funny as hell, derived from “skidmark.” Again, rediculous, I know.

    johnnyj

    Thursday, 24 January, 2008 @ 20:32 at 20:32

  4. I have to admit I also thought “skid mark” (how could you not ?) but then I thought “Nahhhhh”…

    johntheirishman

    Friday, 25 January, 2008 @ 5:52 at 5:52

  5. Hope to see you writing again soon, even if it is about the Irish…

    johnnyj

    Saturday, 26 January, 2008 @ 0:38 at 0:38

  6. Notice jti’s avatar jj? It rocks.

    dfm

    Wednesday, 30 January, 2008 @ 19:40 at 19:40

  7. YOU SUCK DAN !!!

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 31 January, 2008 @ 5:53 at 5:53

  8. Seriously, is it supposed to be like that? Are you mocking me and my handsome avatard?

    johnnyj

    Thursday, 31 January, 2008 @ 22:24 at 22:24

  9. Story is, when I set up my blog in 2006 I accidentally added it – I DON’T want it and can’t get rid of it ! Dan’s been busting my chops over it ever since. I think it’s hilarious he continues to bring it up. I’m sure if I put my mind to it (or eMailed WordPress) I could get rid of it – but this is more fun…

    johntheirishman

    Friday, 1 February, 2008 @ 6:18 at 6:18

  10. Ah, got it…Avatards are special, derp derp!

    It won’t show up if you comment when you’re not logged in!

    johnnyj

    Friday, 1 February, 2008 @ 13:30 at 13:30


Leave a Reply

