The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

We might have “had it handed to us”, but at least we’re not Michigan…

with 14 comments

Summary of the Notre Dame Fighting Irish loss to Georgia Tech, 33-3.  The 5th-ranked Michigan Wolverines lost to 1-AA Appalachian State, 34-32, at home.

Update : We didn’t fare any better against PSU – NO O, NO D, so no W.  Michigan lost again as well, but THIS week sports fans, THIS WEEK is the battle of the 0 and 2s !  I’m sure it will be a Game for the Ages as these two storied programs fight for that ever-so-elusive first victory of the season…

Written by johntheirishman

Sunday, 2 September, 2007 @ 6:18 at 6:18

Posted in NCAAF, Shark Tank

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I used to try to deflect my poor teams showing on others too. Going to be a long season for you jti, I thought the Irish were going to be 6-6, but now I am thinking 5-7 or 4-8.

    dfm

    Sunday, 2 September, 2007 @ 9:58 at 9:58

  2. At the end of the day it’s still just a game. As for the “deflection” comment – not my intent. I feel bad for those kids at Michigan – but App State wanted it worse – just like Ga Tech. All I can do is cheer for ’em, I can’t make’em win…

    John The Irishman

    Sunday, 2 September, 2007 @ 17:27 at 17:27

  3. I don’t feel bad for Michigan. They intentionally scheduled that game as a cupcake, a warm up game if you will. They got burned. I love it.

    dfm

    Monday, 3 September, 2007 @ 14:57 at 14:57

  4. Sidebet on the ND/Michigan game jti?

    dfm

    Thursday, 13 September, 2007 @ 10:24 at 10:24

  5. Thanks for the offer but I’m really not a bettor. I kind of have a standing one with Snake for when ND plays AFA – that’s about the extent. And the way these guys are playing, if I WAS a betting man I wouldn’t touch it !

    Hmmm – lets see – if ND wins Snake owes me a sixer, and if MI wins Snake owes you a sixer ? It worked once before…

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 13 September, 2007 @ 11:32 at 11:32

  6. Gah. At least come into the tank so we can heap abuse on you as the Irish get demolished again this week. You know you love it.

    dfm

    Thursday, 13 September, 2007 @ 15:43 at 15:43

  7. Where you been boss?

    Snakeye

    Monday, 17 September, 2007 @ 20:39 at 20:39

  8. What’s up, Trav ! I’ve been “observing” just not participating. Just real busy with “stuff” – yard, house, new job, socially. We’ve got something going every weekend (and most weeknights) even though we try not to – something always comes up. I don’t mean that in a bad way, only to say we’re busy !

    Howsabout them IRISH ??? You may win the annual AFA v ND Dortmunder Bowl this year and regain a 12er !!!

    johntheirishman

    Tuesday, 18 September, 2007 @ 4:25 at 4:25

  9. True… but if ND keeps playing the way they have been and losing big, you just may have 9 cases of beer or equivalent coming to your house come December…

    Snakeye

    Wednesday, 19 September, 2007 @ 15:23 at 15:23

  10. Yeah – I thought of that obviously, but I would much rather that the Irish finish 8-3, not 3-8 (he typed optimistically)…

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 20 September, 2007 @ 6:07 at 6:07

  11. Too bad on those 3-8 dreams jti. We hashed it out a bit last night and there is a very distinct possibility that the irish could go “defeated” this year. Their best chances for a win look like Duke and Navy, and both of them have a couple of wins this year. Meh, you can always hope for the pool jackpot win.

    dfm

    Sunday, 23 September, 2007 @ 9:56 at 9:56

  12. What a BUST ! Very disappointing season. I have never seen an Irish team that was this underachieving and unmotivated – and that my friend, is coaching…

    johntheirishman

    Monday, 24 September, 2007 @ 6:47 at 6:47

  13. But at least I still have my avatar !!!

    johntheirishman

    Monday, 24 September, 2007 @ 6:48 at 6:48

  14. Your avatar rocks. As an aside, I had a conversation with a busniessman from South Bend last week, and it appears that not only is fat boy a lousy coach, he is a jerk to boot.

    dfm

    Monday, 24 September, 2007 @ 11:58 at 11:58


Leave a Reply

