The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Just A Little Update

with 4 comments

Tons going on here at 1470. It’s been a rollercoaster ride this Summer (beginning in May & still going) – here’s the latest :

GrammaPalooza 2007 – huge success, roasted my first hog (something you don’t see everyday in the city), 60+ at our modest bungalow with the postage stamp size yard.  Family in from FLA, MD, GA (you know who you are !) and OH.  First time this many of Slim’s fam have been together since the mid-80’s…

Work Situation – finally looks like they have found a replacement for me (they should make someone an offer this week).  I start training with my new bossman late this week or next.  He goes on a month-long vacation during September so we need to get a lot done in a short period of time since I’m his fill in, AND we’re in the midst of a huge expansion project.  BTW – ever since they made me this offer to stay my work attitude has done a complete 180 – obviously for the better !  Lisa likes her new job down the street as well…

Sprituality – been very introspective lately – OK, a bit more than normal.  There is a whole bunch going on in this crazy world and I’m just trying to hold my ground.  I’ve been bothered (as is the norm) by a lot of the senseless crimes, natural disasters, man’s inhumanity to man and the Godlessness that I observe in the headlines, and also in my personal observations as I journey through life.  I’m still trying to find how I fit in, and what my role is.  It’s a journey that has taken me from my Catholic upbringing to Non-Denominational Protestantism to where I am now – just praying, reading, contemplating and philosophizing.  I have been this way since I was a very young child regardless of what “label” you put on it – I’ve pretty much always been like this even before I “understood” God and faith .  Just remember – it’s where you’re at not where you’ve been…

Biking & Fitness – Not mountain or road biking as much as I’d like (who does ?), but with most of the Summer activities behind us that should change.  I also put up an 80-pound “heavy bag” to mix my workouts up between  the trainer (basically a stationary bike), my free-weights and the “home gym” machine.  Not trying to build much, just trying to stay toned – I AM 43 after all…

Kitchen & Food – Lately been seeing what I can do with inexpensive cuts of meat (Chuck steak, Pork “Western-Style” Ribs, et al) and trust me – if you know what you’re doing you can do a lot with a little.  Trying to do more with Rice, veggies and “peasant” foods also.  Rice is a staple for 1/3 of the world’s population – good enough for me – 2 billion+ can’t be wrong !  Also, 1/5 of the world gets by on less than a $1.00 a day – now there’s a challenge.  Crops aren’t what I thought they’d be (need some Miracle-Gro(tm)), but I’m working on it.  If only the squirrels & chipmunks would leave us alone !  It seems every time a tomato ripens enough to eat I find them half-eaten (but I DID land a couple 18-inch zuccini the other day…) !  Now, if only I can keep the dogs away from the cukes and squash…

NCAA College Football 2007 – Can’t wait !  The Tank is up and running (nice job guys) and The Irish aren’t in the Top 25 – no pressure, just play football.  And as we ALL know : it’s not football, it’s NOTRE DAME football !!!  Goooooooo IRISH !!!  See ya soon, and my best to you and your’s…

Written by johntheirishman

Tuesday, 7 August, 2007 @ 19:51 at 19:51

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheap and easy solution to the rodent problem – and fun! Quiet as well, so neighbors will not know what is going on. Best part, perfectly legal to order by mail. You don’t even have to leave the house. Except to pick up the carcasses.

    dfm

    Saturday, 11 August, 2007 @ 6:26 at 6:26

  2. btw I am going to delight in tormenting you as the Irish go 6-6 and decline their invitation to the Poinsetta Bowl.

    dfm

    Saturday, 11 August, 2007 @ 6:26 at 6:26

  3. I’ll consider that, dfm – thanks ! Do they come with mini beanbags for crowd control ?

    Hey – a bowl game is a bowl game ! I personally think they’ll go 7-5 – we’ll see…

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 11 August, 2007 @ 7:26 at 7:26

  4. We need your ND preview for the football site – email it to me or Astro and we will get it posted. I see you have kept your avatar – I love that thing.

    dfm

    Saturday, 11 August, 2007 @ 7:36 at 7:36


Leave a Reply

