The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Gone Bikin’

with 3 comments

Well, it finally kicked in.  For some, Summer means Softball, Volleyball, Any-ball.  For me, it means biking !  To some degree I cycle year-round, but for obvious reasons I’m more prolific now that the “better weather” has arrived.  I play Basketball and used to engage in other sports, but free-time is tight – somehow biking always wins out.  Not only is it an excellent, non-impact (usually) activity, it also forces you to focus and clears your head. 

I have a Raleigh M30 for the trails and a GT Vantara for the road.  I usually hit the Rocky River Reservation, which is part of the CLE Metroparks and has an excellent network or trails – a lot of which are usually blocked with logs and debris – very challenging.  There are also creek beds, large rocks, drop-offs and hills – anything you need to really challenge you and give you a good workout.  I also do some “technical work” on the car-sized boulders at Edgewater Park on Loch Eire.  It’s mostly low-speed balance work, but I’ve really never seen anyone else do it – that should probably tell me something !

I also love urban biking in Downtown CLE – in fact, I’m going today !  DT is large enough and has enough going on that you don’t get bored, yet small enough that you can see & do what you want in just a few hours of riding.  It’s remarkably challenging in it’s own right as there are taxis, buses, peds, curbs, stairs, wheelchair ramps, construction sites and other architectural and infrastructure “obstacles” including Security Guards and CLE’s finest that try to enforce ordinances. Whitey always be oppressin’ me !

When I trail or urban ride on the M30 it’s normally 15 to 20 miles worth, but usually very punishing.  I average around 30 miles on the GT, which is a Hybrid I converted to a road bike with the help of those fine folks at Century Cycles.  The road rides are a lot less gruelling than the trail rides, but I do ride both bikes DT depending on the type of ride I crave.  Sometimes I need to tear up the trails or the concrete jungle, other times I’m just cruising the Loch Eire shore on a gorgeous Summer day, seeing how the “old money” lives and watching people enjoy our resources.  Whatever I end up doing, now you “know how I roll”…

Written by johntheirishman

Friday, 13 July, 2007 @ 7:21 at 7:21

Posted in CLE, Gears

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll see you today with the Big Gays…
    BTW, I think Stiffler will be over for Sunday’s feast… still have to call Curtis (assuming all is OK with you)

    Snakeye

    Friday, 27 July, 2007 @ 6:40 at 6:40

  2. Dude… I don’t think I ever “official” said goodbye. Thanks for letting us eat you out of beer, house and home. Till next time…

    Snakeye

    Wednesday, 1 August, 2007 @ 20:09 at 20:09

  3. Yeah, some of us had to work Monday after the 4-days of festivities – even though I FINALLY got to bed just before 0100. Til next time, bud – Slainte Mhath (slawncha vah)!!!

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 2 August, 2007 @ 5:30 at 5:30


Leave a Reply

