The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Playing Your Hand (Part 1 ?)

with 8 comments

Let me preface this by saying that this post will be kind of “vague” due to the fact that some of my co-workers may read this.  It’s not that I’m concerned that they will, it’s just that this “drama” has not completely unfolded as of yet, and I want to keep the “playing field” level.  Only upper management knows what’s going on.

I work in Supply Chain Management for a rapidly growing company in a CLE suburb.  It’s a company that for the most part treats it’s employees well, and offers above average bennies.  I have been with the company less than 2-1/2 years, and have been less than pleased with my role – I have voiced this on many occasions – most recently at my last review in May.  I have been looking for a different employer for a few months, but being VERY selective.

I finally, after much internal debate (and prayer), gave them notice on Monday afternoon.  I stated I would give them 6 weeks to find my replacement – about the time it should take them to find a suitable candidate.  BTW – I had nothing lined up.  I am passionate about my happiness, so I was willing to take a job doing “whatever” in an attempt to regain “me”.  I say that because myself and others had noticed “changes” in me – I noticed them as well long before they did.  It’s also part of the reason I lost my creativity in the kitchen, and for posting here.

So first thing this morning I see my supervisor, our VP of Operations and HR in a meeting about my resignation.  Policy is normally to allow people to leave without compromise.  After their meeting, Mr. HR stops by my cell and asks to see me in a conference room – seems they want me to stay and understand my reasoning for leaving.  They know that I also have a very strong background in Facilities Management, Capital Improvements and Project Management (all of which I LOVED), so they ask if I would meet with our Facilities Manager about working for him.    I have lunch with the guy, who is a man I have a lot of respect for as we currently work very closely.

Later I see yet another meeting going on with the same “group”, this time including Facilities Guy – my curiosity is piqued.  Zip forward to the end of the day : HR Guy is out for the rest of the week and says Monday we’ll discuss the transition and finding my replacement.  So let’s get this straight –  I go from a perfectly solid job at a great company, resign from it (willing to work for peanuts just to be happy), then against policy, basically get a job offer to stay and work in a brand new position in an area I really enjoy ?  I know it ain’t over yet, but I feel very blessed.  I don’t think this happens very often…

Written by johntheirishman

Tuesday, 3 July, 2007 @ 20:43 at 20:43

Posted in Randoms

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well boss, any word yet?

    Snakeye

    Wednesday, 4 July, 2007 @ 23:06 at 23:06

  2. Travis ! Can’t wait to see you buddy ! Just a few short weeks I hope. Trying to keep the chimnea together – you can now see daylight through the cracks !

    I’ll find out more on Monday, probably about the time you’re having evening chow. This is pretty much the only truly positive thing to happen since I’ve been there, and it took my resignation to make it happen…

    Pam called us when she got home around 8-8:30 last night – safe and sound !

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 5 July, 2007 @ 5:13 at 5:13

  3. What do you mean “changes?” Oh yeah, “Get a part time job!” kinda changes.

    BH

    Thursday, 5 July, 2007 @ 8:57 at 8:57

  4. Real funny, Snowflake…

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 5 July, 2007 @ 10:45 at 10:45

  5. Or should I say “Betty Cracker” ???

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 5 July, 2007 @ 10:53 at 10:53

  6. Do I need to change my name to BC now?

    BH

    Thursday, 5 July, 2007 @ 18:13 at 18:13

  7. You can, but you’ll always be “Pammycakes” to us !!!

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 5 July, 2007 @ 19:12 at 19:12

  8. […] some of you may recall from my earlier post (https://johntheirishman.wordpress.com/2007/07/03/playing-your-hand-part-1/), I was very unhappy and gave notice that I was leaving the company – with absolutely NOTHING lined […]

    4 Days and Counting… « The View From Here

    Saturday, 25 August, 2007 @ 8:35 at 8:35


Leave a Reply

