The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Garden v.07

with 4 comments

Finally it looks like the threat of frost is behind us, so it was fairly safe to get the crops in this year – something I truly look forward to doing all Winter and Spring.  Although I am on rain delay right now, I plan on finishing the task today that I started yesterday.  I got about two-thirds planted before I decided it was time for one of Slim’s favorite meals – Shrimp Fra Diavolo and Lemon Pasta – at her request.  More on that at another time.

I first began farming as a “pre-teen” when a friend’s parents pitched a couple scrawny tomato plants into their compost pile.  I really felt bad for those little guys that didn’t make the cut, so I took them home and planted them.  Those rejects took off like crazy and I was overjoyed to see the “fruit” of my work.  I remember rushing home from school to see if there were any new flowers, then later any tomatoes to harvest.  I honestly don’t recall what I actually did with the tomatoes, but the process of going from planting to harvest left it’s mark !

This year, along with my usual crops of tomatoes, basil, peppers, pickling cukes and rosemary that we plant, we decided to add eggplant, slicing cukes, zucchini, yellow squash and mixed mesclun greens – basically baby lettuces.  Returning on their own for yet another season are strawberries, mulberries, raspberries, blackberries, apples, peaches, chives, leeks and a lot assorted herbs – around 10 or so.  I also expanded Garden v.07 by around 70 – 80 square feet, adding to the roughly 150+ that I normally plant.  All in all we will be swimming in produce from July through September, with many of the herbs lasting all through the Winter !  I also freeze a lot of stuff so we can enjoy it through “The Off Season”.

If you’ve never tried gardening, well, you should – it’s basically free food !  And like peoples from other countries do, my cooking creations often revolve around what is seasonal.  It is very common for our friends and family to stop by for dinner during “The Season” and have a good portion of the meal grown on site, and this year will certainly not disappoint !  Even if all you have is some patio space for a container garden it’s well worth the effort.  As the rain ceases I’ll be back at it, planting the balance of the crops for 2007, and very soon, reaping what I sow…

Written by johntheirishman

Sunday, 20 May, 2007 @ 6:42 at 6:42

Posted in 1470, Eats

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude… expanding it? You still got room for the chimnea and lighter fluid?

    snakeye

    Wednesday, 23 May, 2007 @ 2:15 at 2:15

  2. Of course, Travis old boy ! Why, Slim and I just had a fire last night and I slipped and used waaaay too much citronella. I almost rivaled anything you’ve done – almost. BTW, we may need to replace the old girl as there are many, many cracks…

    Hope things are going OK for you over there !

    johntheirishman

    Wednesday, 23 May, 2007 @ 5:17 at 5:17

  3. Dude, you got to keep it limping til I get there at the end of July. You gotta at least lemme put the final crack in it… it’s what I’ve been trying to do all along! (just kidding… but I do like the raging fires!)

    Snakeye

    Wednesday, 23 May, 2007 @ 12:21 at 12:21

  4. I’ll do what I can, buddy – I KNEW that was your sinister plot all along, Corporal. After all, look what you did to your own ! It will be awesome to have you back – can’t wait ! I’ll stop at “The Depot” and see if they have a better mortar repair than I’ve been using – stay alert & safe, Snake…

    johntheirishman

    Wednesday, 23 May, 2007 @ 12:45 at 12:45


Leave a Reply

