The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

I’ve Abandoned My Wife…

with 5 comments

…or at least that’s what it feels like !  I just dropped Lisa off CLE – she is taking a flight down to Savannah to visit her cousin Pam (a lot of you know her as the better half of the wildly popular “Pam & Travis Show”).  As most of you know, due to the airline regulations put in place since September 11th, I had to leave Slim at the screening area instead of accompanying her to the gate.  I was surprised how sad I felt as I watched her walk away and disappear out of sight.  I would imagine this is the way that parents feel when they send their little ones off to school for the first time.

Slim and I have been “thick as thieves” since our very first date back in 2000, and have not spent many days (or nights) apart since – normally my business trips.  Heck, it’s probably been over 3 years since I had an “overnighter”as my current job has not required it.  We’ve traveled, but always together – even for some of my business trips and Slim’s continuing ed seminars.  Starting tonight, it will be 3 days and nights apart – very strange !

I’m sure that being apart from your “significant other” is probably the norm for a lot of you, especially those in the military or in sales.  As I write this, Pam’s husband Snakeye is overseas serving our country – thank you Trav.  I know Slim and Pammycakes will have a blast – they always do !  And if you’ve never been to Savannah, I highly recommend a visit.  As for me and the dogs (who I expect to be very depressed), we’ll do just fine.  I’ve got a huge list of things I plan on doing around the house and yard, and maybe I’ll even get in some road or mountain biking too !  I’m also sure I’ll have a new appreciation for those that are separated from their loved ones from time to time, and appreciate it more that we aren’t…

Written by johntheirishman

Thursday, 10 May, 2007 @ 14:56 at 14:56

Posted in Randoms

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I’ll be able to talk to both of them tonight…

    Snakeye

    Friday, 11 May, 2007 @ 22:39 at 22:39

  2. Hey Trav – good to hear from you ! I had a fire in the chimnea this evening and thought of you…

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 12 May, 2007 @ 6:45 at 6:45

  3. You have a few beers with it for me?

    Snakeye

    Saturday, 12 May, 2007 @ 7:32 at 7:32

  4. Actually, just some wine – sorry. Lisa called and said her and Pam are going to the base to do a video hook-up with you – wish I could have been there, friend.

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 12 May, 2007 @ 9:46 at 9:46

  5. Yeah John. Lisa says it’s a good thing you didn’t go or I wouldn’t have gotten any talking time myself!

    BH

    Sunday, 13 May, 2007 @ 10:21 at 10:21


Leave a Reply

