The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Breakfast Eye Opener (orig. posted 03/19/07)

with 6 comments

Slim and I are out for breakfast yesterday at our favorite place – only place we like really – to go when we decide to have breakfast out.  We go to a restaurant called My Friend’s Deli, which is just across the 44107 border on the Cleveland side.  Food is good, and the place is normally chock full of eccentrics – just how we like it !

MFD is undergoing a renovation, and some booths are now surrounded by thin drywall, making the acoustics a lot “better”.  We sat next to a couple that didn’t have their “quiet voices” on and heard something a bit disturbing.  They were talking about a mutual friend – it went something like this :

“Yeah, so-and-so’s brother told him he was going to commit suicide, and he told him ‘Go ahead’ – so he did…”

What a sad commentary for the state of our society today – the brother didn’t care, and the people discussing it were basically unmoved as well.  I was horrified !  Why do we put such a low value on human life ?  This is not TV or Hollywood or a video game – this is reality, and we get one shot at it…

Update : In Britain, a depressed man hanged himself while his webcam fed the live images to a chatroom he frequented.  He was egged on by others in the chatroom and told to “get on with it” & “do it”.  Here’s an excerpt from the article :

They confirmed Mr Whitrick told friends in the internet chat room of his plans to kill himself but, thinking he was joking, they egged him on telling him to make sure the his webcam was on.

Mr Whitrick, using the user-name Shyboy-17-1, switched on his webcam and went ahead with his grisly plan.

One anonymous user said: “He tied a rope around an uncovered ceiling joist and stood on the chair as he tied the rope around his neck.

“Some of us chatroom users, talking to Kevin over text chat, microphones and video tried to convince him to step down, but others egged him on telling him to get on with it.

“We just couldn’t believe he was doing it – it was surreal.

“One chatter said: ‘F***ing do it, get on with it, get it round your neck. For F***’s sake he can’t even do this properly’.”

Written by johntheirishman

Saturday, 24 March, 2007 @ 7:20 at 7:20

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seesh….

    BTW, “Eccentrics.” Is that what we’re calling them these days?

    BH

    Monday, 19 March, 2007 @ 18:31 at 18:31

  2. Actually, these people were “normal” – you’ve been there A LOT – you know what I’m talking about…

    “I’ll have the Turkey sausage.” “It’s more expensive, ya know ?” “That’s OK, John’s paying…” – classic…

    johntheirishman

    Monday, 19 March, 2007 @ 18:55 at 18:55

  3. I wouldn’t say “we” as society put a low value on life… but it wouldn’t surprise me if druggies or the like do and that’s what you encountered.

    Snakeye

    Thursday, 22 March, 2007 @ 5:42 at 5:42

  4. Good point, Trav. Actually though, these two were normal – he struck me as middle-class, dressed like he was going to work on his rental properties or something and she seemed normal as well. I think it’s just an example of the “me first” culture that has taken a foot-hold everywhere you (or at least I) seem to look. You see it in the way people drive, when they shop, how people are more rude and demanding than they used to be – it has even trickled down to children and adolescents. I think that people are just unaware of how they act, interract, and treat other people – “me first, I’m special” is very prevalent. Just my take on it…

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 22 March, 2007 @ 7:44 at 7:44

  5. You’re right. Now that we’ve been in Savannah for a little while, I’ve noticed that some drivers on the road think that they’re better than everyone else… (ie, they try to shoot down the median while everyone else waits for traffic)… It’s a shame. But wisdom, my friend, is what stops that. I’ll admit, when I was 20, I was that asshole trying to get ahead of everyone on the road like I was the most important person in the world… but over the years, I realize that everyone has a place to go, and there’s nothing that makes me different. So I’m just gonna wait with everyone else. There’s no point in stepping on toes and being a jerk… the world is already filled with enough jerks.

    Snakeye

    Thursday, 22 March, 2007 @ 17:38 at 17:38

  6. I’ve seen it a lot in business, both people I’ve worked with and those that I’ve dealt with from other companies – most think they’re a Rock Star, an MVP, or a First Round Draft Pick – they all fall short…

    So anyways – how is Der Fatherland ? Are you “making your way” ?

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 22 March, 2007 @ 18:41 at 18:41


Leave a Reply

