The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Daddy’s Little Helper

with 5 comments

When I was first teaching myself how to make bread, I burned up our ancient hand mixer right off the bat.  Thinking it was due to age, I went out and bought a brand new hand mixer and destroyed it on day one – not a good sign.  Disappointed, I wasn’t sure what my next move would be.

 The big problem was solved when I realized I needed to change only one word to solve my dilemma.  I needed a stand mixer, not a hand mixer.  Hand mixers are great for making whipped creams, Banana Bread and the like – but I needed a “man’s” mixer, something with “stones”.  Stand mixers are the type that have the flip top head and detachable mixing bowl.  Once I got the right equipment I was in business !

I decided to go all out – a top of the line brand and certainly more than I wanted to spend.  Enter the “KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer” – ta da !  I got this bad boy of the kitchen retail, and with the use of a  couple coupons I was out the door for under $300.  You can certainly get a stand mixer for less – considerably less – but I rarely bestow luxuries upon myself, so why not.  I went with the Black & Chrome to honor my family heritage.  My grandparents owned a bar, restaurant and bowling alley (all in one building), and Grampa made the BEST milkshakes with a similar unit he kept behind the bar.

As I began to use the mixer more and more I realized how versatile it is : breads, mashed potatoes, my wife’s cookie doughs – you name it !  The Artisan even has a total of ten speeds – I personally have never gone past six – lots of torque too.  The head also has a type of “PTO” (power take off) drive to which you can attach a meat grinder, veggie slicer and other “implements” to.  After all these years, I have have never second-guessed the purchase.

 I have some very functional pieces of equipment in my arsenal that I’ll discuss at a later date, so I don’t want to ramble any further about my ally in the kitchen – but it is truly a kitchen “aid”…

Written by johntheirishman

Monday, 19 February, 2007 @ 20:55 at 20:55

Posted in Eats

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When did you buy yours? Quality OK? I am thinking about buying one just so I can make pizza dough faster. Then again, I might knead that dough by hand just for kicks at least once. And learn how to toss it for the kids.

    dfm

    Tuesday, 20 February, 2007 @ 21:22 at 21:22

  2. I got mine about 4 or 5 years ago. The quality is excellent ! KitchenAid is a top name, like Cuisinart, Allclad or Wusthof. Well worth what I paid, but I think I’ve seen some on sale in the low $200s, maybe lower. It should be the last mixer you’ll ever buy. It came with a dough hook (breads), a flat beater (cakes, taters) and a wire whisk (creams & cremes). I cannot tell you how much we’ve used it ! The meat & veggie “implements” are around $50 each, however, I haven’t bought them.

    johntheirishman

    Tuesday, 20 February, 2007 @ 21:37 at 21:37

  3. Only someone diagnosed with “asp” would go into specific detail regarding the semantic differences between kitchen gadgets. Gotta love ya Johnny!

    "B.H."

    Wednesday, 21 February, 2007 @ 21:09 at 21:09

  4. PC ! “B.H.” should be “B.W.” – I’m having a flare up !!!

    (but I still knew who it was…)

    johntheirishman

    Wednesday, 21 February, 2007 @ 21:55 at 21:55

  5. BTW – “B.H.” is MUCH funnier !!!

    johntheirishman

    Thursday, 22 February, 2007 @ 8:55 at 8:55


Leave a Reply

