The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Who Doesn’t Like A Good Pizza ?

with 6 comments

And what’s better than building your own ?  While it ain’t building an empire, it’s a worthy accomplishment !  By request, my recipe is posted below.  I think it’s best to use a baking stone, but a greased pizza pan works just fine.  Please note that some of the measurements for the sauce are close guesses – when I make stuff I just “kinda know” how much as I go along.  I also have a focaccia bread crust that adds even more flavor, but another time for that.  Enjoy !

For the Dough :

1 1/2

cups

Bread Flour

2

tbsp

Yeast

5

oz

Water, warm

1

tsp

Salt

1

tbsp

Sugar

1

tbsp

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Mix everything but the flour with the warm water and stir. Mixture will turn

“creamy” as the yeast activates. Using a stand mixer with a dough hook,

add the yeast mixture to the flour and mix at low speed – 2 if you have a

KitchenAid – for 8 minutes. If you don’t have a proper mixer you’ll need to

do it all by hand. Mix until the dough forms a ball with a nice beige hue.

If the dough seems dry add water, and if it’s too sticky add more flour.

Form dough into a ball and let rise on the stone for 1 hour. Punch it down

after the hour is up and roll out on the stone, molding the edge to form the

crust. If your stone isn’t “cured” yet you’ll need to spray it with Pam.

Sauce :

14

oz

Diced tomatoes (canned is easiest)

3

ea

Anchovies (optional)

2

ea

Garlic cloves, minced

1

tsp

Basil, dried

1

tsp

Oregano, dried

1

tsp

Salt

1

tbsp

Sugar

1

tsp

Garlic Powder

2

tsp

Onion Powder

2

tbsp

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

In a small/medium sauce pan add the oil and anchovies. As the

anchovies begin to sizzle and melt, add the garlic. When the garlic

just begins to turn light brown add the canned tomatoes. I like to

“work” the tomatoes with a potato masher as they cook – that’s just

how I roll. Add the balance of the ingredients to the mix and work

or cook down for 20 to 30 minutes. Let cool and use a food

processor of blender to puree the mixture. Don’t forget to stir

periodically throughout the cooking process.

Pizza :

Preheat to 425 for 10 to 15 minutes. I like to make the sauce while

the dough is rising, then roll the crust out when I’m ready to assemble.

Spread the sauce on the rolled dough and add a layer of Mozarella or

whatever cheese you prefer. On top of that whatever else you like.

We’ve used pepperoni, ham, prosciutto, peppers, mushrooms, onion,

pineapple, bacon – make it your own ! I think it usually takes about 20

to 25 minutes. You’ll know because the crust will start to turn brown

and the toppings will look, well, “done”.

Written by johntheirishman

Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 10:14 at 10:14

Posted in Eats

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This kicks ass, I will try it soon. I will post my results and give credit, of course, where credit is due.

    dfm

    Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 11:08 at 11:08

  2. Nice

    Snakeye

    Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 11:10 at 11:10

  3. Just keep in mind that the measurements for the sauce are close but estimated. And please, if you try making a pizza and maybe it’s not “that great” try it again and adjust – I think you’ll be glad you did ! I don’t make it “all the time”, but when I do make one I wonder why I don’t more often…

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 15:54 at 15:54

  4. Sounds yummy, I think you have inspired me to try it this weekend.

    sk8

    Sunday, 18 February, 2007 @ 0:49 at 0:49

  5. Let me know how it comes out – if it’s not perfect, keep trying ! Well worth it…

    johntheirishman

    Sunday, 18 February, 2007 @ 8:53 at 8:53

  6. […] never done the recipe blogging thing like JTI or Dan, but I’ve finally perfected one that is too good not to […]

    the Astronomicon › Cajun Cooking

    Friday, 11 May, 2007 @ 20:26 at 20:26


Leave a Reply

