The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

Food, Glorious Food !

with 9 comments

What else can I say – most of you know my passion for food.  Cooking is one of my most favorite things to do, and hey – everybody’s gotta eat !  It’s not often that you can enjoy your “hobby” on a daily basis and include others also.  I also enjoy growing herbs and veggies – I think I’ve normally got over a dozen herbs growing outside when it’s warm.  This is hopefully just the start of posting about food. 

As mentioned in my Material World post I enjoy trying foods of other lands.  Primarily I am inspired by the Mediterranean region, and lately I’ve also been experimenting with Asian and Middle Eastern foods.  Cleveland is blessed with a large ethnic population and also with a lot of ethnic markets, so I have no trouble finding ingredients.

 When I’m not using someone else’s recipes, I of course, use my own.  I try to make my breads, pasta sauces and soups from scratch – basically everything we eat is from scratch.  I’ve even been known to take someone else’s Turkey carcass home to make soup – why let it go to waste ?

 I’ll stop for the time being, as I could go on for hours, even days.  If anyone wants to discuss what they like, please leave a comment.  Who knows, maybe I’ll branch out into a whole new vein of cuisine exploration ?  If so,  I will welcome it – as always – with open palate…

Written by johntheirishman

Wednesday, 14 February, 2007 @ 21:18 at 21:18

Posted in Eats

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John, you oughta start a page or another dedicated area on the web to your recipes… I guess here’s an example from Susannah, one of Pam’s friends from Clovis (I flew with her husband, a great great leader)… but I think eventually a lot of people would check it out and you may even have a following. Of course, link up to this and vice versa, ’cause opinions are always interesting too.

    Snakeye

    Wednesday, 14 February, 2007 @ 21:48 at 21:48

  2. Good thought – we’ll see how big it gets (if at all). I’m not sure if I would want to offer published recipes, because they’re already easily found on the internets. I would like to talk about my creations, maybe some tools & techniques, seasonings, uncommon ingredients & “whatever”. We’ll see…

    johntheirishman

    Friday, 16 February, 2007 @ 7:27 at 7:27

  3. No… not published recipes. I mean the crap that you come up with… or your herb garden and stuff like that.

    Snakeye

    Friday, 16 February, 2007 @ 11:39 at 11:39

  4. Peasant food – for me, it is all about peasant food.

    Things that back in the day poor people ate, and in the present day are enjoyed with inexpensive cuts of meat and other cheap ingredients like beans, cooked for longer periods of time.

    A huge pot of jambalaya for instance costs around ten dollars to make and can feed four for dinner with enough for leftovers for the next couple of lunches.

    Specifically ribs, jambalaya (something little kids AND adults like – challenging), cassoulets, risottos, things like that.

    Pizza I think is my next big (huge) project. I will need a peel, screen, stone, the whole shebang – maybe down the road six months or so.

    Burgers too.

    So I have been enjoying taking simple, cheap recipes and perfecting them to our tastes – cheap, and fun to toy with them.

    Just a niche I have been attacking.

    dfm

    Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 6:55 at 6:55

  5. Snake : There is almost nothing I enjoy discussing more than things culinary, and food. If I really “go off” I’ll talk about food, herbs and other ingredients, and probably how I save around $100 a month shopping wisely and using coupons.

    Very few things inspire me like this subject does ’cause everybody’s gotta eat !

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 7:43 at 7:43

  6. DFM : I couldn’t agree more. Peasant food is exactly what I’m talking about – doing more with less. I don’t do much with beans or lentils, but I do use a fair amount of pasta, rice, and rice noodles.

    I made Jambalaya last weekend – a simple, inexpensive (and great tasting) dish in honor of the upcoming Mardi Gras celebration. I fed six adults and had left overs for Slim and I. No luck finding whole Crawfish, so I settled for just tail meat.

    We have entertained heavily, and I love the fact that I can feed 10, 15. 20 people a restaurant quality meal that they’ll rave about for McDonald’s prices !

    As for Pizza – I’ve been making it for a few years now. You really only need a stone. When you’re ready, I have a simple dough recipe and a pretty easy pizza sauce recipe – both my own creations. That way I can make the whole thing from “the ground up” except, of course, the toppings.

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 7:54 at 7:54

  7. Post that pizza recipe STAT!

    dfm

    Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 8:36 at 8:36

  8. I would have posted the pizza recipe sooner, but it was handwritten. Heck, try it today !

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 17 February, 2007 @ 10:15 at 10:15

  9. DFM : I actually had to look up what a Cassoulet was – interesting…

    johntheirishman

    Sunday, 18 February, 2007 @ 18:49 at 18:49


Leave a Reply

