The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

And The Results Are In !!!

with 16 comments

Let me start by commending everyone that submitted  jerky for “The Skaterat Memorial First Annual Jerk-Off” – you guys all did a fantastic job !  However, sometimes you’re the Rawlings and sometimes you’re the Louisville Slugger.  Actually, it wasn’t that “cut and dried” – very close results.

The conditions were as follows : 72 degrees (inside), 650 feet above sea level, and all jerky at room temp.  The palate cleanser for my wife and I was Gordon Biersch Blonde Bock, which was a brewery I went to several times while visiting San Jose a few years back.  Imagine my surprise when it showed up on the menu at the restaurant a block away.  Point scale was 1 to 5 with half points included, sampled twice in alphabetical order, based on points for taste & texture.

  My results (taste / texture = total) : Astro (4 / 3.5 = 7.5), Sk8 (3.5 / 4 = 7.5), Snake (3.5 / 3 = 6.5) & DFM (3.5 / 3 = 6.5)

Slim’s (taste / texture = total) : Astro (3.5 / 3.5 = 7.0), Sk8 (2 / 3 = 5.0), Snake (2.5 / 2.5 = 5.0) & DFM (3 / 2.5 = 5.5)

Comments : Astro – great flavor, DFM – finished well & spiciest, Sk8 – smokiness & good balance, Snake – finished well & nice flavor diversity.

 After a 7.0% Blonde Bock on an empty (mostly) stomach, Slim stated “mmm…Astro – he’s my man…”.  I guess that says it all…

Update : It has been decided by Astro that our results cannot be used since we did not have a Jerk-Off entry – fair enough.  Maybe I’ll submit for “The Skaterat Memorial Second Annual Jerk-Off” because as Bears fans will see, there’s always next year…

Written by johntheirishman

Friday, 2 February, 2007 @ 20:07 at 20:07

Posted in Shark Tank

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] So I’m curious if everybody doesn’t mind, what exactly were the marinades? DFM, I already got yours… Also, Astro (the host of this year’s Jerk Off Competition) has the final results and amusing commentary here here. […]

  2. I’m jealous… 1) for the beers, and 2) you were supposed to vote for me damnit!!! 🙂

    Snakeye

    Friday, 2 February, 2007 @ 20:47 at 20:47

  3. Wouldn’t looked good, buddy – HA ! You guys were all so close – I mean REALLY CLOSE !!! But hey – how does Astro block those #@&% smiley faces ???

    johntheirishman

    Friday, 2 February, 2007 @ 20:52 at 20:52

  4. Apparently the ban is off of 😉 tonight

    Snakeye

    Friday, 2 February, 2007 @ 21:14 at 21:14

  5. Glad you liked it. I had to wait until I made my judgments before I could read yours. I guess you didn’t get any of JJs. Probably for the best though – his was well done but so spicy that it permanently burned the palate. All the Gordon Biersch in the world wouldn’t have helped your twice around sampling method.

    I’m jealous as well. The only Gordon Biersch I’ve had is at the brewpub in Vegas. Good stuff – all I can get around here is BMC swill. Time for me to run to Nashville so I can load up on some Stone Brewery goodness…

    astro

    Friday, 2 February, 2007 @ 21:20 at 21:20

  6. Astro – what is this BMC that you speak of ?

    johntheirishman

    Friday, 2 February, 2007 @ 22:02 at 22:02

  7. BMC = Bud, Miller, Coors. Standard swill. It is hard to find good beer in a dry county.

    astro

    Friday, 2 February, 2007 @ 23:05 at 23:05

  8. Ah jtc, you have hated on me since I called you a pedophile in a drunken shark tank once. Fair enough.

    dfm

    Saturday, 3 February, 2007 @ 10:13 at 10:13

  9. No h8 – everybody’s was good. Both the wife and I gave you second. Obviously I was objective or Snake would have won it all – he’s family…

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 3 February, 2007 @ 10:28 at 10:28

  10. JTI…You didn’t get a sample of my jerky? Maybe that is a good thing, it would have ignited your mouth…Pretty spicy, ask snake.

    johnnyj

    Saturday, 3 February, 2007 @ 22:15 at 22:15

  11. Sorry, JJ – Snake didn’t have your’s when he made his shipment to me. Spicy is good ! Good luck in the Jerk-Off…

    johntheirishman

    Sunday, 4 February, 2007 @ 11:40 at 11:40

  12. JTI, I love it: there’s always next year…

    Snakeye

    Sunday, 4 February, 2007 @ 18:03 at 18:03

  13. […] amused with misspellings and the ‘ring of fire’ – basically a wash). I ended up using JTI for the tiebreaker, so Sk8 won by a […]

  14. See dude… you resulted in the tie breaker… now I think I need to put Nicotine or Weed in my jerky next time so you’ll become addicted to it and rate it better…

    Snakeye

    Sunday, 4 February, 2007 @ 22:11 at 22:11

  15. Damn dude…. sucks about Stro…
    BTW, you ever thought about customizing your header image? Like of the Cleveland Skyline or something?

    Snakeye

    Wednesday, 7 February, 2007 @ 17:34 at 17:34

  16. It IS customized, but I think it only shows up correctly on my laptop. It’s a pic of an alligator I took in Florida behind the hotel where Angie & Deac got married – Pam was there. What’s it look like to you ? At work it cuts off the pic so you can’t see the eyes, on mine the gator is staring you. Good size, too – I figure about a 12-footer, meaty, several hundred pounds. Went looking for it after dark later on – that was just stupid – CRIKIES !!!

    johntheirishman

    Wednesday, 7 February, 2007 @ 19:55 at 19:55


Leave a Reply

