The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

And they’re off !!!

with 7 comments

I know it’s too early to decide, but I’m looking for some input on the 2008 Presidential Race.  I’m not a very political person, at least not like I was when I was younger.  With the privilege to elect a new President looming, I haven’t any idea who I really care for.  Since I’m not passionate about any particular candidate or political affiliation, your help is needed.

 I would appreciate any input or reasons why I should (or should not) vote a certain way.  Heck, if you can sway me towards a particular candidate,  I can get my wife and others to go along with me due to the tremendous amount of influence I wield.  In the past I’ve always seemed to “know” who I was going to vote for, but I haven’t a clue at this point.

So, having stated where I don’t stand, please post your comments and let me know what you think.  There are no prizes, and you can’t “win one for The Gipper” (r.i.p. RWR), but a vote for ___________ is a vote for ____________…

Written by johntheirishman

Tuesday, 23 January, 2007 @ 7:35 at 7:35

Posted in Politico

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are right – it is way too early.

    Having said that, I can already scratch quite a few off the list. For me, I can eliminate McCain, Giuliani, and Romney from the Rs, and Clinton, Obama, and Edwards from the Ds. That is based solely on their voting records and statements on 2nd amendment issues. Right now they are considered to be the leading candidates, but I imagine that will change quite a bit between now and the primaries.

    From who is left, Gingrich, Tancredo, and Richardson are worthy of further consideration IMO. That doesn’t mean I like them – I just haven’t eliminated them yet. I imagine there will be some other interesting names pop up before it comes time to vote.

    astro

    Thursday, 25 January, 2007 @ 19:17 at 19:17

  2. You realize Richardson is the Governor of the “Land of Entrapment”… aka the lovely state of New Mexico (cleaner than regular Mexico) and the home-state of Blovis….

    Snakeye

    Saturday, 27 January, 2007 @ 2:26 at 2:26

  3. Yes, that is how I know of him.

    astro

    Monday, 29 January, 2007 @ 0:01 at 0:01

  4. A survey on CNBC stated that 2/3 of the people would elect an African American, and 48% would elect a woman. Hey, 800 Des Moinians CAN’T be wrong…

    (Des Moiners ? Des Moinites ? Screw it – Iowans…)

    johntheirishman

    Monday, 29 January, 2007 @ 7:22 at 7:22

  5. That should bode well for Condi Rice, but unfortunately she’s classified as a ‘white male’ by the Democrats and thus loses half the votes right there.

    I’d consider her if she were to run – she is smart, decisive, and conservative for the most part. Her time in State is wussifying her, though, so she is losing ground every day.

    astro

    Friday, 2 February, 2007 @ 21:25 at 21:25

  6. When I asked a former Des Moines resident about my use of “Des Moinians” I got this reply :

    “Central Iowan

    Des Moinian (But nobody from Des Moines likes this term)

    A true person from Des Moines is a Bulldog but only those from Des Moines will know what that means.

    If all else fails, Hawkeye, or Cyclone. You can also be a Bulldog and a Hawkeye, or a Bulldog and a Cyclone, but you could never be a Hawkeye and a Cyclone; unless of course the Hawkeye’s lose that year.”

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 3 February, 2007 @ 12:43 at 12:43

  7. Astro – I like Condi as well, but recently when I made a comment to that regard amongst some “more politically inclined” relatives recently I was “shouted down”…

    johntheirishman

    Saturday, 3 February, 2007 @ 12:45 at 12:45


Leave a Reply

