The View From Here

musings by John The Irishman

40 is the new 30 ?

with one comment

As I look towards my 43rd coming up in a couple months, I can’t help but think about the title of this post.  Everywhere you go , catch phrases abound – “Pink is the new Black” and “60 is the new Middle Age” come to mind as some more recent ones in the media.  I have to say, however, that for me – 40 is DEFINITELY not the new 30 !   

Those that know me best – or that will give me an ear – know that I’m a pretty active guy.  I mountain bike, road bike, play basketball (playground pickup games), workout, a little racquetball, throw the football around – whatever.  I may be going on 43, but mentally and physically I still feel mid 20s / late 20s with no signs of slowing down.  I think back to my parents at this age and they seemed so much “older” and more responsible.  

Why am I bringing all this up ?  I’m not sure exactly – I just felt like “putting it out there”.  As we age, it is inevitable that our bodies will show the signs – a little grayer, a few more wrinkles, slower first step, a little “extra baggage”.  I personally feel that if you stay active and in shape, and keep a fresh mental attitude (and never stop thirsting for knowledge)  that age truly is just a number !

  Something odd did cross my mind yesterday while I saw others speed through a school zone.  If they get pulled over could they use the “30 is the new 20” argument ?  Just musing I suppose…

Written by johntheirishman

Saturday, 13 January, 2007 @ 12:02 at 12:02

Posted in blah-blah-blah...

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Damn… if that’s all true, my body must be about 60 with my broken hip and all…

    Snakeye

    Friday, 19 January, 2007 @ 0:52 at 0:52


Leave a Reply

